Star Trekking

Six days. That’s how long it took for my geeky fannish colours to show on this spanking new baking blog of mine. Six days I was able to maintain that professional (well sorta) appearance I was going for. I have to admit, I thought I’d be able to pretend that I’m not an absolute media geek for at least a little longer. I mean, it’s not even been a week yet. But it couldn’t be helped! Yesterday my friend Stephanie came by with the Star Trek TOS boxset she got for her birthday and I couldn’t just not bake anything to celebrate the occasion. It was both our first times watching TOS, and we were ready to get our Shatner and Nimoy on.

I am not a sci-fi fan. I never was and I don’t think I ever really will be – so when my friend Dee made me watch the Star Trek reboot movie I didn’t think I’d like it. And I was right, I didn’t. I had been assured I didn’t need any Star Trek knowledge to be able to follow the plot but maybe my non-sci-fi brain is wired differently because I couldn’t get into it, and after a couple of minutes I couldn’t even follow the plot anymore. So that was a disaster.

But then – for some reason that is still beyond me – I started looking Star Trek reboot up online and within days I was completely immersed into one of the most fascinating fandoms I have ever encountered. I rewatched the movie and adored it – and to this day I’m still not sure if I should be thankful to Dee, or if I should blame her for all the hours/days/weeks of my life I have spent/wasted on Star Trek.

I am pretty sure there’s nothing a vendor at a convention loves more than a fangirl. I saw these Star Trek reboot figurines at FACTS in 2010 and was instantly in love. The guy took one look at me, told me a little about them (they were Burger King toys they added to those children’s menus – and Bones and Sulu are missing, but I could find them online) and then promptly asked the highest price he could think of – because he knew I’d pay for them because I was almost beyond myself at how cute I thought they were.

Tags: , , , ,

2 Responses to “Star Trekking”

  1. iemcanadian Says:

    You are so cute! I love these!

  2. David Gross Says:

    no red ones?;)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 73 other followers

