Oreo inspired pride

I love oreo cookies. I love them. Love, love, love. I love them so much that one of my friends and I would often head out to the America Today clothing shop in Antwerp during school breaks just to go and buy these cookies – completely bypassing the clothes and heading straight for the good stuff. (Yeah. I admit it, I’m a bit of a sucker for American snacks and sweets.)

When I saw the picture on Oreo’s facebook page of the cookie with the rainbow colored filling, I was just really happy. Another thing to add to my reasons-I-love-oreos list. I wanted to make oreo cupcakes to celebrate – or maybe a cake. But my bike broke down and I couldn’t get any. So instead I made some home made oreos, as a little thank you for the awesome people behind that pictures, and the awesome people behind those cookies.

Also, another reason to celebrate oreos is because they turned 100 this year. That, and they’re adorable:

Since 1912, we’ve made it our business to make life a little less serious.
In a world that’s become far too adult, a couple of Oreo cookies, a glass of milk, and a shared Twist, Lick and Dunk is all it takes to set your inner kid loose.
Celebrate the kid inside all of us.

Oreo turned 100 years young this year

I got the original recipe from ChefNini. It’s in French though, so I’ll translate it here.

Ingredients

40 grams of butter
25 grams of water
50 grams of flour
50 grams of cocoa (make sure it’s not sweetened)
40 grams of brown sugar

40 grams of cream
1/2 vanilla bean
100 grams of white chocolate
20 grams of butter
red, orange, yellow, green, blue, purple food color

What to do

For the cookies: put the butter and water in a small saucepan and bring to a boil. In a bowl mix all the dry ingredients and add the boiling butter/water. Mix well until you get a firm dough. Put in the fridge for 30 minutes.

For the vanilla cream: put the cream and the seeds of half a vanilla bean in a small saucepan and bring to a simmer. In a bowl weigh out the white chocolate. Once the cream gets to boiling, pour it over the chocolate – let it sit for a minute and then stir until all your chocolate has melted. Add your butter and stir in well. Divide your chocolate cream in 6 even portions and color. Put in the fridge to firm up.

Continue with the cookies: roll the dough out (couple of cm) and cut out rounds. Bake in a pre-heated oven of 180°C for 12 minutes. Take them out and let them cool completely before adding the white chocolate vanilla cream.

I used my 1/4th cup measuring cup

Pride! I got 8 (double) cookies out of this recipe

Thanks for the support, oreo :) You’re amazing and super tasty.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

