Brownie peanut butter pie!

Yesterday I finished my first week of the bakery course I’ll be taking this year! Eep, super exciting! I’ll be having bakery classes, patisserie classes, classes in chocolate (and finances/marketing etc.) On our second day we made pralines, and yesterday we baked a white loaf of bread. To say that I’m really pleased with my life right now is a bit of an understatement! To celebrate I’ll post the pictures of the brownie peanut butter pie I made for a friend last week. He was in the mood for chocolate and peanut butter, and when I saw this recipe down at Sprinkle Bakes I knew it had to be this pie!

Visit the Sprinkle Bakes’ original post for (1) the recipe and (2) amazing pictures of a far less-sloppy version of this pie. My technique needs some work, but the pie apparently tasted very yummy, so I was pretty proud.

 

 

 

 

 

The pie is built up out of three layers of brownie, with a peanut butter cream in between. I messed up with the brownie a bit, it had to bake for a lot longer than the original recipe called for – and even then one of the brownies was still very wet/sloppy in the middle. The crust, on the other hand was pretty tough and hard – my friend tried to spare my feelings though by saying he liked the crunch. Bless him.

 

The best dark chocolate you could wish for.

To finish you need to cover the layers with a chocolate icing. I topped it off with bits of Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups and some shaved chocolate for the bottom! I had some happy friends and neighbors after I started handing out the pie – but it is very, very heavy and not something you want to start off taking a really big piece of! Overall it’s pretty easy to make though, so if you’re a peanut butter and chocolate fan you should give it a go :)

Tags: , , ,

One Response to “Brownie peanut butter pie!”

  1. Jessie Says:

    Oh, that looks really good!

Leave a Reply

