Cookies and brownies

04

Last weekend we had the international Customer’s Day in Belgium. On this Saturday in September customers get treated with a little gift from (small) business owners. I baked brown-butter and vanilla, triple chocolate chip cookies (pffew, quite the mouthful) and brownies for the people who came into my parents’ restaurant on that Friday.

The chocolate chip cookies I made were my favorite recipe (which you can find here)! While I was looking up the recipe I wanted to go back to the source, but I found out that the blog where I got this recipe from no longer exists! That’s so sad, and I’m just glad I wrote down the recipe on my blog as well, because I don’t know what I’d do if I knew I could never make these cookies again. They’re made with a brown butter (the smell of your butter will immediately put you in the mood for these cookies) there’s vanilla bean in the dough, and three different chocolate chips :) they are absolutely amazing.

I had to make about 75 of them last weekend – so I had about 3 kilogram of cookie dough. I don’t think I’ve ever made that many in one go before! Because I knew I had to make the brownie batter from scratch on Friday morning I made the cookie dough ahead of time on Thursday. I measured out the dough in little balls of the same weight so that on Friday all I had to do was flatten them into little disks and bake them. Freezing this dough works perfectly, and because I use regular chocolate chips (and not the kind that are oven and heat proof) it kept the from burning while baking! Because the butter had completely solidified over night in the freezer, it worked as a shield for the chocolate: so baking tip for next time! :)

03

05

06

07

Now for the brownies. There’s a couple of recipe that every baker needs their favorite of, and this is definitely my very favorite brownie recipe. I found it a couple of years back in an Easy Cook magazine under the easy weekend food section. I cut out the recipe and I even laminated it because it kept getting dirty from how I would drag it along with my in the kitchen while baking these lovely brownies. Are you ready for this? Because this is quite amazing.

What you need

200 grams of plain flour
50 grams of cocoa powder
1 teaspoon of baking powder
1/2 teaspoon of salt
200 grams of butter
280 grams of caster sugar
1 vanilla bean
4 eggs

33 / 23 cm (high) baking tray

What to do

01. Sift together the flour, cocoa, baking powder and salt – set aside.
02. Cream the butter with a hand mixer. Make sure the butter is very soft – but it shouldn’t be melted before you start creaming it. It should be very light and fluffy and takes about 5-10 minutes to cream completely. Add the sugar and mix together well, until the butter mixture is just smooth and creamy. Add the vanilla from the vanilla pod, and mix. Add the eggs one by one, and mix well after ever addition.
03. Fold in the flour mixture. Use a spatula to gently incorporate the flour. (Reminder: when you add flour to a batter/dough it’s important to not overwork it by mixing it in with a mixer. We don’t want to activate the gluten like you would for a bread dough.)
04. Bake your brownie for 20 minutes in a preheated oven of 180°C (if you’re using a fan oven, like me, 160°C)

Tada! Delicious brownie! Now, if you want to make it extra extravagant I suggest you do this. Top off your cooled brownie with a frosting: Cream 50 grams of soft butter, and add 200 grams of icing sugar – mix until you have a smooth icing. (If it’s too lumpy add a tiny bit of lukewarm water.) You can add a flavoring to this frosting as well, if you’d like. Spread this across your cooled down brownie. Next: temper 175 gram of chocolate and spread this over your frosting. Let the chocolate set and cut your chocolate up into squares of your preferred size – and I promise you, you’ll have the most decadent and yummy brownies ever.

09

11

12

13

14

15

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Cookies and brownies”

  1. Elaine Says:

    Ohh that’s such a cute tradition! Giving a small gift to the customers! We should have that in the Netherlands too!! =O
    (and as always, your baking looks so incredibly yummy! <3)

Leave a Reply

