Earl Grey Chocolate Chip Cookies

 

 

04

 

I love tea. I think there’s not a single other hot drink that can come even close to giving the joy and comfort that a good cup of tea can offer. Not coffee, not hot chocolate – they don’t come close. Or for me, at least – weirdly enough I have a lot of friends that don’t feel the same way. Huh. My tea collection is ridiculously extensive, up to a point where I’m a bit worried that I’m never going to be able to make it through to the other end of it, at least not for another couple of years. Even though I love trying new brands and flavors, there’s a couple of teas – classics – that’ll always be on the top of my list. A good, simple Darjeeling with lemon is my personal favorite. I’m also very partial to Lipton’s Vanilla Green tea – there’s just something about that one. And then there’s Earl Grey. You just can’t go wrong with Earl Grey. When I saw the recipe for these Earl Grey Chocolate Chip Cookies on the Hummingbird High blog, I knew I had to try them.

I made them for a friend’s birthday and they were a pretty big success – I personally loved them to pieces, at least. Which I count as a big success!

You’ll need

3/4 cup of butter
1/2 cup of Earl Grey tea leaves
1/2 cup of sugar
1 vanilla bean
1/2 cup + 3 tbls of light brown sugar
1 egg
1 + 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
3/4 teaspoon baking soda
3/4 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
280 grams of dark chocolate chips

What to do

01. Put the butter in a pan, put it on the stove and gently let it brown. Take the browned butter off the heat and add the tea leaves, stir and let it infuse for 30-40 minutes. Once that’s done you’re going to strain the butter with a fine seive. Make sure you get as much of the butter out of the leaves as you can, pressing down on them with a spoon so they release the butter. (Use loose leaves. I tried it by cutting open bags of Earl Grey and the leaves were too fine for me to be able to properly get them out of the butter afterwards. I ended up losing a lot of the butter and then I had to add more – it was a big mess. Don’t make the same mistakes I did!)

02. Add the sugar to the butter and mix well with a hand-mixer until light and fluffy. Add the egg and mix well.

03. In a separate bowl stir the dry ingredients together. Sift these into the butter mixture and combine with a wooden spoon or spatula. Add the chocolate as well, and stir it in. You might have to mix it with your hands a bit.

04. Shape the dough into a log that has the diameter the size you want your cookies to be. Wrap in plastic wrap and store in your fridge or freezer – depending on how soon you want to bake the cookies. Chill them at least 12 hours so the tea flavor can really set in. You can also keep the dough much longer in your freezer.

05. Once you’re ready to bake them. Preheat your oven to 190°c (conventional – 170°C fan) and get your dough logs out of the fridge/freezer. I use a really big knife that I put in hot water first (if the dough is coming out of the freezer) cut 0.5 cm slices from your log and line your cookies on a baking tray lined with baking paper. Bake for 10 to 12 minutes!

01

02

03

05

06

07

08

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

5 Responses to “Earl Grey Chocolate Chip Cookies”

  1. Anne Says:

    Nom nom nom. :D

  2. teawithpolly Says:

    These sound delicious to eat!! But I would never have the patience to make them :-( Maybe I can convince a more baker-y type friend to make ’em for me!

  3. Julia Says:

    Why does the temperature say 190? I’ve never seen a cookie recipe with something that low

Leave a Reply

